The Tower of Gargonza
a timeless jewel
Tower of Gargonza
from the middle ages to the present
The Tower of Gargonza dates back to the 14th century, a period during which Gargonza was under the control of the Lordship of Siena and its nine governors.The Castle was bought for 4000 florins from the Ubertini family of Arezzo.
In the hands of the Florentines since 1385, in 1433 the Lordship of Florence ordered the demolition of the walls to quell the rebellions of the Gargonza Community, which refused to pay the “Catasto” tax to the Florentine Lordship.
However, the Tower with the entrance arch and the Parish Church of SS. Tiburzio and Susanna remained.
In 1546 the Lordship of Florence gave the property of Gargonza to the Florentine family of the Marquis Lotteringhi della Stufa and then from a dowry in 1696 to the Marquis Corsi of Florence, ancestors of the present owners.
In 1838, Francesco Corsi carried out significant restoration work and added Guelfs-style merlons on top of the Tower.
Other works were also done on the main façade, including the addition of central windows framed with stone moldings. Additionally, small embrasures were closed on three sides of the Tower, in addition to the original entrances located on the façade opposite the central square, to make way for the ground floor entrance toward the central square.
In 2021, the restoration began with the cleaning and pointing of the stones on all the façades; a consolidation of the merlons through disassembly and reassembly, and internal restoration of all the floors were carried out immediately after. The work was completed in August 2023, and now we can finally revive the experience of staying in a Medieval Tower.
In addition to our classic “Gargonza Houses” offering, we now have a suite called the “Tower Suite” on the first floor with a view of the square and the valley, and a room called the “Tower Room” on the third floor with an adjoining bathroom.