Skip to content

Via Clanis stages: here we are!

Via Clanis stages: here we are!

Tuscany is a region where those who love nature will surely find what they are looking for. Unspoiled forests alternate with hilly landscapes, and the whole area is crisscrossed with trails and walking paths. One of the most famous and beloved trails for walkers is definitely the Via Clanis, which runs through the entire Val di Chiana to ccessing the most beautiful and characteristic villages in this part of Tuscany, including the village of Gargonza.

In this article we find out everything there is to know about this historic route immersed in the nature of Tuscany, which allows this area to be revived in its entirety.

The stages of the Via Clanis

The GTValdichiana Association was born from the passion for trekking of a group of friends and from the experience gained from walking along the ancient paths which surround the Chiana Valley. A ring route of 180 km connects all the historical villages and citiesof the Val di Chiana and the entire path name is called La VIA CLANIS named after the Etruscan name of the Chiana which is the river that flows in the Valley.

There are 8 stages that will lead the walker to discover the Clanis River, wonderful villages, rich in Etruscan and Roman history, breathtaking views, excellent food and wine and genuine hospitality. The stage that also involves Gargonza is called the “the route of the towers and the castles” and a more fitting name for us could not be used.

Here are the 8 stages of the Via Clanis.

  1. Arezzo – La Sassaia – Castiglion Fiorentino
  2. Castiglion Fiorentino – Le Celle – Cortona
  3. Cortona – Castiglione del Lago
  4. Castiglione del Lago – Montepulciano
  5. San Biagio – Sinalunga
  6. Sinalunga – Lucignano
  7. Lucignano – Gargonza – Monte San Savino
  8. Monte San Savino – Civitella – Arezzo

Each stage has a duration of 17 to 32 km with various elevation differences and levels of technical difficulty. You can take a few days off to complete the entire route or do only the stages you prefer. They can be done at any season of the year, but in general fall and spring are the best times because it is neither too hot nor too cold. Each stage allows you to discover a different corner of Tuscany’s wonders so approach it in the right spirit: take your time and enjoy slow tourism and the beauty around you, forgetting your watch and smartphone and immersing yourself completely in nature.

The stage of the Via Clanis that also involves Gargonza is the penultimate one and is called the Via delle Torri e dei Castelli: a more fitting name for us could not be. You can therefore sleep or eat in Gargonza taking advantage of our B&B accommodation and eat at our restaurant or have a snack at our shop located inside the village. You can relax in the beautiful setting of our village by taking advantage of B&B accommodations and eating at our restaurant, La Torre di Gargonza, or having a snack in Bottega located inside the village.

We sincerely thank Mr. Sauro Casucci who, together with the GTValdiChiana Cultural Association, conceived and studied all the paths including ours.